BANKER BY DAY, ‘STATESMEN’ BY NIGHT

Britain has its very own superhero?! Yes it’s true. All suited and booted, the anonymous banker by day prowls the streets at night, becoming our very own vigilante. This is Kick-Ass at its best. As revealed by the Daily Mail yesterday, the masked hero tries to keep the streets of Birmingham in check for four nights of the week, helping the homeless, preventing burglaries and stopping drug dealers.

Christopher Nolan had better watch out with this year’s Batman outfit, as this hidden hero could give him a run for his money. Dressed in a Union Jack T-shirt, ‘The Statesmen’ is proud to serve the nation. Following in the footsteps of Zorro, this outfit is also accompanied with a black mask so as to hide his identity like any other true superhero. That’s not all. The previous Territorial Army soldier is armed with a utility belt, military boots, a first aid kit, a torch to surprise his villains, a notepad to record any relevant information and a mobile phone to contact the police if needed. Like Batman, his fists are his forte, with the banker saying: “I’ve been boxing since I was 11 and I’m still training, it helps me to judge things and be reasonable”. Could he be any more superhero like?

Aware that his true identity is crucial to remain a secret, the banker strives to keep his family protected. This is Superman at his best, as even his own girlfriend is unaware of his heroic antics. “It helps that I have a lot of hobbies. I say I’m playing late-night poker matches with friends or watching a pay-per-view sports” he said. Is this the new Lois and Clark? When asked about his vigilante name, the banker said: “A statesman is an ambassador, a diplomat and somebody who delivers a message. Something that’s meaningful and positive, and that’s something I feel that represents what I do”. Now if those aren’t the words spoken by a true superhero, I don’t know what is.

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment